November



Nespole

Originally uploaded by nonsonoitaliana

This is the season of nespole, small, soft fruits with big seeds, covered by a crinkly, hairy skin. Molly, her nonno and I all love them.

The season of kiwis and persimmons, walnuts and chestnuts, long shadows, gloomy days and fog.

The season I became a mother in; the season my daughter was born, my sister, my father, one of my grandmothers and my best friend Anna.

It’s a reflective, melancholy month, punctuated with happy events to help me through, and the anticipation of the winter holidays. Knitting begins in earnest and I have a decided increase in my need for sweets.

And this year it is also the beginning of my doula training- this weekend we begin.

A beautiful month.

Leave a Reply

