the garden



my broccolli

Originally uploaded by nonsonoitaliana

Apparently broccoli is not spelled with two “l”s. Thank goodness for Flickr’s spell-check.

The garden is a mess.

The tomatoes suffered some kind of blight: either the manure, my father-in-law or rabbits. The bee-guy put forth the rabbit hypothesis and I’m going with that one, under great pressure. It reminds me of when I was teaching and everyone would tell me how great I was and I would try to tell them the truth (“No, really, it was a horrible day: I yelled at the kids, wasn’t organized for any lessons and let them use up my entire stash of colored paper and tape building “parks of horror.””), but no one wanted to listen.

Weeds are everywhere, which isn’t so bad except that the farmer felt it was so out-of-control that he was motivated to spray herbicide in part of my field. Luckily not next to my plants. Trying to work with others is REALLY REALLY HARD. Plus he took my water away today (?) and I couldn’t water anything. Sigh.

But there are many bright spots: the remaining tomatoes are pretty, and now carefully weeded and tied-up. The eggplants and peppers, while small, are healthy. The potatoes are robust and flowering. And the broccoli, beets and cabbage look beautiful.

Now I have to clean the house.

But lest you think it’s all work and no play, check out the photos from our perfect picnic on Tuesday!

2 Responses to “the garden”

  1. Rachel Says:

    Wow! the picnic was wonderful!

    Miss you, mother

  2. anna Says:

    your broccoli looks a good sight better than mine that has already flowered (??) i realized after 4+years of doing this gardening thing that really all i care about growing is salad and culinary herbs (parsley, cilantro, etc)…

Leave a Reply

