This is not my garden



outside bergamo

Originally uploaded by nonsonoitaliana

But I wish it was.

Our days are like this:
Up at 6.30 after a busy night of nursing.
By ten or so we are out the door and on our way to the garden, where we stay until midday.
Lunch.
Amalia’s short nap.
A student or Italian class for me.
And every other day, we buy milk.

(The milk machine/dispenser is a hopping spot. The conversation this afternoon was about how children today are not as strong immunologically because not only do they not eat dirt and unpasteurized milk, but they live in sterilized houses. According to the very friendly and cheerful man we met there. I could happily report that my baby does not live in a sterilized house. Not by a long shot.)

Start dinner.
Amalia’s bath.
Hanging out until papa’ gets home.
Dinner.
Bedtime for the baby. Sometimes for me, too! That’s why I haven’t been writing much.
I am headed to bed RIGHT NOW.

2 Responses to “This is not my garden”

  1. alixhtravis Says:

    How funny, what the man said about baby’s eating dirt. I wonder if he reads the NY Times. I have packed to mail to you a recent article from the Science Section about the importance of coming into contact and ingesting some dirt is for babies. It strengthens their immune system.

    aht

  2. anna Says:

    yay for kids that get down and dirty!

Leave a Reply

