Diapers (nappies, pannolini) and stuff

diaper stuff

Originally uploaded by nonsonoitaliana

Ilario keeps working late, burritos are all prepared for dinner except for the tortillas, the baby is calm in my belly, and I am done putzing around the apartment…

Mostly I have been knitting, A LOT of knitting, but also some sewing during our evening ball games (which have taken an unexpected turn to American football- the NFL? I thought I married an Italian?).

I have a bunch of completed and lanolized diaper covers (all a sort of conservative gray yarn that I had originally intended to be a sweater, some many months ago), some sewn diaper covers made from felted sweaters, and a couple that are just cut sweaters that are theoretically very-easy-to-use-diaper-wraps. We’ll see about that.

And I sewed a cover for a basket I picked out of the trash this summer here in Terno- it’s now my diaper basket, holding all my expensive and fluffy Kissaluvs diapers.

Yesterday we bought yet another kind of drying rack, one that fits in the tub, so I am guaranteed a place to dry the endless wet diapers I know are in my near future.

Can I just say that one of the best things about Italy is the variety and affordability of all the contraptions for drying clothes? It is totally NORMAL to dry clothes here- I am so used to being a freak about everything, and yet here, this most radical and important (and easy) energy-saving behavior is absolutely MUNDANE. I have a tall, folding rack that can hold an enormous amount and be moved indoors or out, a balcony railing rack, and now my tub rack.

Just thrilling, I know. This is my life. Diapers and drying racks and WAITING.

Tags: ,

One Response to “Diapers (nappies, pannolini) and stuff”

  1. Anna Says:

    i DO find it thrilling…i feel like i could talk for at least three days on drying racks alone.

Leave a Reply

