One week



Brennan walking in snow

Originally uploaded by nonsonoitaliana

This was one of the last photos I took in New York, before I loaded myself onto the plane, already sick with fever, flew eight hours over the Atlantic in a strange, agitated state, landed in Milan, hauled myself onto the bus, lugging all my bags (3!!! unheard of for me), then out again at the Central station, ran (with the three bags and a blazing fever by this point) for the wrong train in a great state of mental confusion, almost got thrown off the train for having the wrong ticket, passed out in my seat, covered in sweat, and finally was picked up in Bergamo by my in-laws, who took me home.

Yesterday I only had fever in the afternoon, and only 38 (100F). The other days its been over 39 (over 102F).

SIX DAYS.

So I am healing, if slowly, and maybe next week I will be able to do all the things I was supposed to do this one, but had to pass over in favor of lying in bed or on the sofa all day.

The really unfair thing is that after a day or so of lying down, my body hurts so much that I feel I can’t anymore, and yet the list of possible alternatives is incredibly limited as the fever kept me from standing up… I’ll leave the rest to your imagination.

One Response to “One week”

  1. anna Says:

    maybe it was the water in the USA?!! hehe

Leave a Reply

