In the bedroom…

Lemon tree

Originally uploaded by nonsonoitaliana

A few weeks ago I bought a lemon tree- something I’ve been dreaming about for awhile. It is living in my bedroom, because of it being winter outside some of the time. Some of the time because other times it is like Fall or Spring outside and the lemon would be fine, even happier perhaps, but I’m too lazy to haul it in and out.

My friend Paolo disapproves of plants in the bedroom, because of the lesser-known habit of green plants to actually use oxygen and release carbon dioxide in the dark. This contrasts greatly with their much-touted role of carbon dioxide-eaters and oxygen producers and seems rather sinister.

But I figure I have so many plants in the apartment, and said apartment is so very small, that even if it were in the kitchen (as far away as it could get, and which is already full of plants), its nightly work would still ruin my air quality.

These are the dangers one must face when one is a plant addict. It is not, as many might rashly assume, a life without risk.

And the little guy has THORNS.

2 Responses to “In the bedroom…”

  1. Alix H. Travis Says:

    In the apartment in Paris this summer the owner had a huge one on the balcony that had many lemons. It obviously was not a dwarf variety. Maybe she had started it from seeds as I have done several times. Anyway, it was my job to water it with a mop bucket of water, twice a week.

    We thought it was lovely and probably much too big to ever be taken inside.

    mother

  2. Rachel Says:

    I would like to build some kind of frost protection for it, like a plastic cover, so I can leave mine outside, too. Maybe next year.

Leave a Reply

