Distance

Rachel and McCready at the beach

Originally uploaded by nonsonoitaliana

I have been thinking about this guy and his little sister so much lately.

This photo is old now, taken when the almost-five-year-old was three and a half, but I don’t have so many of myself with him so I cherish it. One of the hardest things about my life here in Italy is how far I am from my family- I know it would be the same if I had continued to live in Alaska, or any other place in the states that isn’t the east cost, but still sometimes I feel downright hostile towards Italy for choosing to be on the other side of the world.

I finished the sewing project started yesterday, but don’t have a photo yet, and worked most of the morning and afternoon on the other, secret project. I am trying to find a way to be in their lives despite the distance, and think I many have hit upon a possible, fun solution. I will find out after the holidays if it works.

2 Responses to “Distance”

  1. Alix H. Travis Says:

    Dear Rachel,

    I did a sewing project with Hallman that she thought of. When the children were here before the Thanksgiving holiday Hallman and I were making the beds upstairs when she found a few buttons. She, of course wanted more and I broke into my container of buttons from newly purchased clothes. You know extra buttons come in little plastic bags. She could not hold them all and I located your sewing bag, which had more, larger, colorful buttons that Hallman and I threaded with a large, yarn needle. She quickly got the hang of putting the needle through the eye and lifting the thread so that the button slid to the bottom. We gave the string, all nicely wrapped to Brennan for her birthday present.

    Reminded me of the wonderful sewing projects you girls and I did when you were little.

    Love, mother

  2. Rachel Says:

    I didn’t even remember that I had a sewing bag at your house! Guess you can’t complain anymore about me leaving so many things there now… maybe Hallman will need more stuff I’ve stashed there.

    I think a lot about all the sewing I used to do- the dolls I made in elementary school. I was confident I could just go ahead and make things. They never came out exactly how I imagined, and what I loved most was the process of making them. If I remember correctly, it was you who made the clothes for them, right?

Leave a Reply

