Seasonal

Farm stand

Originally uploaded by nonsonoitaliana

Since I discovered the local farmer at the Calusco market, I have been buying all our vegetables and fruit there. My life is at the same time greatly simplified and increasingly challenged.

Simplified because I only go shopping once or twice a week (Saturday market and some other day of the week to the grocery for dry things like toilet paper), and then our buying collective once a month. Simplified because I don’t have to think much about what I’m going to buy, either.

Challenged because I am working hard to come up with a large variety of dishes that have winter squash, cabbage, potatoes and apples as main ingredients. We have had cabbage salads of various types, baked squash, squash ravioli, squash gnocchi, many squah soups, roasted potatoes, mashed potatoes, samosas, potato soups, several kinds of baked apples, apple cakes and apple pies, as well as apples in the squash soups and ravioli… I am cooking a lot, really a lot.

I am so far pleased with both the simplification and the challenge. I feel responsible, but also lucky to have the possibility of buying local, seasonal food. It’s just so normal and reasonable feeling. I do have some anxiety about what February will bring, but I am more curious than worried.

One Response to “Seasonal”

  1. Alix H. Travis Says:

    I too have been watching for recipes. Right now, all we see here is pumpkin this and pumpkin that. I made pumpkin custard that was great, with maple serup. Fred had had a pumpkin flan in Brooklyn when we were last there. Do you have pumpkin there. I imagine winter squash would also make quick breads, pies, etc.

    Love, mother

Leave a Reply

