Sweden is good

Trip to museum, coffee break

Originally uploaded by nonsonoitaliana

I have been around the block enough times to know that one cannot judge a place or a people on two weeks alone, but I had such a weekend! Saturday I biked to the outdoor market and bought local produce and sausage- the sausage guy was great and told em winter’s not so bad, it’s really just an excuse to stay curled up in front of a fire all the time and drink… I didn’t have the heart to tell him my apartment didn’t come equipped with a fireplace, and the guy I want to curl up and drink with is in Italy. Then I went to a thrift store- I know, seems like peanuts, but it was like balm on my tortured soul. I’ve been two years without a thrift store, you see.

Sunday a fellow teacher took me, along with his dad and another teacher, by car to a watercolor museum about an hour and a half away. We stopped for coffee from a thermos and muffins- a THERMOS. It was great. The museum was great, too, with a special exhibit of British watercolors from 1650-1880. They didn’ make my heart beat fast, but the film explaining how watercolor revolutionized painting because of its ability to capture the light of a place and the parallel turn toward a Romantic interpretation of landscape, etc etc sure did. I suppose I have a tendency to intellectulaize everything and enjoy thing in an adulturated, contextualized way… poor me.

About school later.

2 Responses to “Sweden is good”

  1. Alix H. Travis Says:

    What do you think accounts for the fact that there are thrift stores in Sweden but not in Italy?

    Coffee from a thermos as opposed to standing in a coffee bar, like at home? I bet you had a “cup” of coffee instead of a themble full too!

  2. Rachel Says:

    Bergamo is full fo big bins to donate clothes, but they all seem to be going to various parts of Africa. There is a small thrift store connected to a church in a very small town nearby, but I have always been hesitant to go there as it is only open a few hours in the middle of the day, and I’m not really sure if the random public is welcome.

    i did have a cup, and with milk, too.

Leave a Reply

